Ranting

I warned Twitter that if I didn’t feel MUCH better about a situation, I would be ranting today. Though I have calmed down a bit, it’s still bothering me. So here it is.

Several of my friends have talked to me recently about their publishers and editors. They weren’t good talks, but these authors are unable to speak out about their experiences due to their contracts. I, however, don’t have a contract. Here’s a list of the common complaints:

  • no notice for release date
  • cover is completely wrong
  • changes in the story with no explanation
  • REWRITING parts of the story

Can you guess which one ticks me off the most? Yes, I understand that an editor will go through and make notes and even suggest how things could be changed. That’s not what I’m talking about here. An editor rewrote chunks of my friends work without giving her the option to accept or reject those changes. That is wrong!

We are artist. This is our masterpiece. Would you go repaint Mona Lisa’s mouth because she’s not smiling big enough? I don’t think so!

I’m trying not to say anything too harsh because I don’t want to commit career suicide. BUT this isn’t happening to just one person nor is it just one editor doing this. It has to stop. THIS is the reason some authors have decided to switch to self-pub. Why should they have to put up with their work being destroyed?

Okay, enough ranting. I’m sure I won’t get many comments because of the topic. However, if you want to leave an anon comment, I understand completely. Also, you can email me from my about me page. My hope is that all of you realize you don’t have to put up with this and you’re not being petty if you have an issue with it. This is YOUR work, not theirs.

About Falyn Donaldson

Author and Naughty-minded girl
This entry was posted in Monday's Mumbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

