Introverts and Social Media

Last week Mercy Celeste asked a great question. I’m paraphrasing here but basically she asked, How can introverts jump into social media. It’s a question that I had planned on addressing later but she’s right. You introverts need the help NOW.

Tiny, my introvert fur baby

 

Some of you may think I’m the standard extrovert, but I haven’t always been. In school, I was the nerd in the corner with her nose in a book. I still feel the need to be a wallflower instead of the outgoing woman you know. It’s a daily struggle for me to hit that reply button on Twitter or post a comment on a blog or Facebook. But I DO IT ANYWAY!

Now I’m not saying that you should jump right in to a conversation blindly. Get your toes wet first. Post a “Good morning” on Twitter and Facebook. (If you have an app like Tweetdeck you can do both at once. I’ll be talking about app’s in a later post.) If you don’t get a response, it’s okay. At least people know you’re there. But if you do, congratulations, you just started a conversation.

Now, if the first step gives you heart palpitations, it’s okay. You can stick with this approach for a little while and just observe how others interact. That is a great way to learn what type of conversation is okay for certain sets of people. Don’t wait too long though. You need to get your name out there. So let’s move on to the next step.

Ask a question. It doesn’t have to be a life altering question. It can be a simple, what are you doing today? Here you are offering yourself up to anyone who wants to chat. This is small talk, just like in real life. You get a feel of a person.

I know some of you are thinking, How is this going to help my book sales? Every person who sees your name is a potential customer. Some of them will check out your profile. (This is why I wasn’t going to do this post yet.) It needs to have a link to your website or blog. That will give them the opportunity to find out more about you and your books.

The next step is the hardest for some. Reply or comment on someone else’s post. Calm down, don’t hyperventilate. Go get you a bag to breathe into, I’ll wait. Alright, are you breathing? The first time is hard, but it does get easier. Here’s some examples:

Person you are following: I’ve got an appointment at the salon. So excited.

You: Have fun.

Yay! You spoke to someone who might not have noticed you before. They now know that you are not only reading what they post, but you’re interested in what they’re saying. Something to think about: They might be introverts too. You may have just made their day by noticing them.

Ready to take it up a notch?

Person you are following: I’ve got an appointment at the salon. So excited.

You: What are you getting done?

Look at that! You not only spoke to someone, you asked for a response. That’s a great way to start a conversation. Let the other person talk about themselves. It eases you into the interaction without putting yourself too far out there.

Alright, here we go. Let’s get you in there.

Person you are following: I’ve got an appointment at the salon. So excited.

You: Sounds fun! I need to make an appointment but I’m not sure what to get done.

See what you did there? You let the other person know that you have a shared interest and opened yourself up to receive an outside opinion.

But, Falyn, that has nothing to do with selling my book. I’m going to say this as nicely as possible, you’re wrong. Using social media is about *gasp* being social. Let’s look at it from the reader’s POV: who are you more willing to buy a book from? Some random person that you don’t know anything about or a person that you’ve chatted with about random things that interest you both.

Now, I’m not saying not to pimp your book. What I’m saying is don’t sound like a commercial while doing it. If you interact with people on social media in a general way regularly and mention your book (at the most) twice daily. You sound like a real person and not just another spammer.

It doesn’t have to be hard. All you have to do is type words. I find it easier to interact online than in real life. After all, I write words all the time.

Do you have any other suggestions or questions? I’d love to hear from you.

About Falyn Donaldson

Author and Naughty-minded girl
This entry was posted in Social Media Saturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introverts and Social Media

  1. It gets easier. Sometimes you just have to jump in.

  2. Ooops! Mean jump in with both feet!

  3. sorry I haven’t had a chance to pop in and comment before now. been working my ass off on a WIP that’s making me crazy.

    Okay so one thing I have to say really is the networking versus writing issue. The Catch 22 of the business if you will. Jumping in on twitter and leaving comments on blogs is all well and good, but how far does that really go to promote your book? I’ve read that the best way to promote a book is to publish another one, and another until you’ve built a back list and a fandom. But how do you build a fandom? And how do you write another book if you spend all of your available time networking?

    I am in a unique situation, okay maybe not unique as much as new to me, of having three books come out practically on top of each other. I haven’t stopped trying to promote the one that came out in January or even really begun to promote the one that came out three weeks ago now I have one coming out in April too. But all I want to do is work on writing actual books. Most days it’s all I have time for. And for honest and for true, talking on twitter just feels like playing to me. Like I’m not doing what I’m supposed to be doing. KWIM
    Mercy

    • Twitter is like playing. The thing you have to remind yourself of is every interaction gets your name noticed. Name recognition is the #2 reason people buy a book. (#1 is recommended by a friend). So even though you’re playing, you’re also selling your books.

      The time management is something we all have to learn. I like to pop in, say something, then log off. I get @replies sent to my phone, so I am still available to respond. Is this how I always do it? Sadly, no. I get sucked in by all the fun exchanges and get lost for hours at a time. It’s something I need to work on.

Leave a Reply

