When characters meet

I have a treat for you on this Sneak Peak Saturday. Two of my Gulf Coast RWA chapter mates have books coming out this week. So, being the generous sort, I offered them days on my blog. But they didn’t want to be just another blog about books. They came up with an idea that I LOVED so I told them to run with it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Take it away girls.

JILLIAN: When Falyn asked Sayde and I to guest blog about our new releases, Sayde had the great idea of having our heroes and heroines meet on the beach.  We each wrote a part of this scene here.  Sayde’s book is called UNTAMABLE and her hero is Jasper. Her heroine is Siddalee who goes by Sidda. Sayde’s book comes out on February 23, 2011 from the Siren side of SirenBookStrand publishers.  http://www.sirenpublishing.com/.   My book is called SURFER BRIDE and my hero is Fennimore, who goes by Finn.  My heroine is Quincy who Finn calls ‘Q’.  My book comes out from the BookStrand side of SirenBookStrand publishers on February 22, 2011.  http://www.bookstrand.com/.

We hope you enjoy this meeting between our characters.  Thanks, Falyn, for having us here.

SAYDE: The sun’s bright rays burned Sidda’s eyes. The need to snatch Jasper’s sunglasses off his head and place them on hers nearly overwhelmed her. If he hadn’t rushed her out of the hotel room in search of the newest lead for Dane Velham, her bastard father, she’d have gotten her sunscreen and glasses. Now, her fair skin was a bright pink, the first and worst sign she was going to have one hell of a sunburn later. Damn Jasper and his olive skin. And damn her father for leading them on another goose chase.

“Stop sulking Sidda. If it makes you feel any better I’ll rub you down with aloe later.” Jasper’s rumbling voice drowned out the crashing waves of the sea.

She spun to glare at him, her feet squeaking in the sand. (BAWHAHAHA, this is for Jillian.) “You’re right about that and you’re wrong if you think its going beyond rubbing aloe on me. It’s not.” She glanced around her, searching the crowd of beach goers in their bikini’s and swim trunks. The blue waves with their rolling white caps crashed onto the seashore as children ran along the sand trying to beat the water up the sand.

Her gaze stopped on a woman in a bright red bikini. “What did your contact say she’d be wearing?”

Jasper slid to her side. “He said he’d be with a woman in a red bikini.”

Sidda raised her hand, pointing at the man and woman down the beach. The woman held a small surf board as the man glanced around the beach. “I think the woman in red with her ass hanging out is one of the contacts.”

JILLIAN: “Fennimore Smith, I told you to quit following me. If you don’t leave me alone, I’m going to smack you with this board.” Quincy turned toward her former boyfriend, now an ATF agent and lifted her surf board over her head as if to hit him.

Finn ducked, “God, Q, you drive me crazy. Won’t you listen to me for once? I’m just trying to help you.”

“No, you’re trying to interfere in my life and I don’t want you here.”

“You are wearing that bikini I bought you in Costa Rica.”

“Just because I like the suit doesn’t mean I like the man that gave it to me.”

“But the man that gave it to you sure likes seeing those butt cheeks hanging out of it.”

“Now I really am going to hit you.”

“What’s with the short board anyway? Thought you liked the long ones.” He quirked an eyebrow at her, “as I recall, you like everything long.” He paused for effect, “and hard.”

Quincy turned and stalked into the surf. As he watched her march into the  breakwater, he admired her toned butt. Felt himself go hard with need.  Startled from his reverie, he heard a male voice.

“Are you Fennimore Smith?”

SAYDE:

Sidda watched as the woman stopped midstride to see who had asked about the man she had been talking to. Sidda smiled to herself. She knew that look, hell she’d given that look many times over the years. It was the one that said, “I’m not admitting to being in love but don’t fucking touch my man.” And the woman had every right to think that too. The guy was smoking hot! Of course, he didn’t hold a candle to Jasper but still he was hot.

Jasper glared over at her, sizzling annoyance burned through their mental bond. She shrugged. He deserved to be messed with for dragging her around the country and back twice with no breaks. Sidda wanted to find her evil bastard father just as much as Jasper but at some point she needed more than four hours sleep while not in a car and actual food. Fast food joints were so not doing it for her anymore. And she wouldn’t be opposed to having some honeymoon sex with her mate. But as tired as they both were these days, she didn’t see that happening anytime soon. Although, now that she gave Jasper the once over, she saw the evidence of his need too.

“Are you done?” Jasper’s dry tone caught her off guard. She shrugged and waited for the red bikini woman to slide to a stop balancing her surf board like she was getting ready to attack.

The man cocked his head to the side, his body turning halfway but just far enough that Sidda noticed he was as much an Indian as Jasper. Both were pitching tepees.

“I need to find the bastard who has kidnapped my brothers, Dane Velham. You know anything about him?” Leave it to Jasper to cut right to the point.

“He might have some ties to the man Quincy’s involved with. Involved with against my advice, that is.” The guy strode over to the woman named Quincy. His eyes had gone soft at the sight of her.

Jasper and Sidda both knew too well what it was like to want another person so bad you could barely stand it yet not be able to admit it.

“God bless em’.” Sidda laughed.

“They’ll figure it out soon enough.”  Jasper winked.

“Let’s hope they do before he gets arrested for the teepee in his pants and before her ass falls out anymore.” Sidda cut the couple to their side a smile laughing at how red both their faces had gone.

Jillian: Quincy stared at the woman standing beside the hot, masculine, olive skinned man.  With a sneer, she said, “You better not be talking about my ass, bitch. I don’t know who you are, but this bit of the ocean and sand is reserved for locals and it’s quite clear that you and that dude with the dimples standing there beside you are the worse sort of hodads there are.”

Sidda raised her eyebrows. Beside her Jasper’s body stilled but to Finn’s surprise Sidda threw her head back and laughed. “Come on asscheeks, I need to blow off some steam and you can explain what the hell a hodad is because if it’s worse than a bitch than you’re right. I’m beyond being a bitch these days.”

Quincy shook her head. Her eyes were still narrowed, anger dancing in them. “It’s a wanna be surfer. This area is for real surfers, not people who’ve never had sand in their shorts.”

Finn looked at the couple that had asked him for help, “Ignore her, she has some kind of issue with people that like to stay free of sand in the crack of their butts. Something about people who don’t surf being too tightly wound for her.  But anyway, I’ll be glad to help you. This guy you’re looking for- does he have any ties to illegal firearms?”

Quincy turned brighter red than her bikini, “For the last time, Cop, Percy is not a gun smuggler. Let it rest.” She stalked out of the water and off the beach.

Finn walked over to Sidda and Jasper, “She’s stubborn.  Let’s go over to my Expedition and you can tell me about this man you’re seeking.  I’ll share what I know about Percy Hicks. Not sure if your guy and her fiancé are mixed up together but it can’t hurt to compare notes, can it?”

Jasper said, “Sure. Let’s see if we can get any leads on the prick we’re looking for.” With a wink at Sidda, he asked Finn, “Think you could get the blonde to come back? Her ass looks pretty damn good in that suit.”

As one, Sidda and Finn said, “Watch it, buddy.”

Jasper just grinned. Sidda on the other hand, turned and stalked off toward Quincy. There was no doubt that the couple had spent too much time in a vehicle together lately.

Jasper’s flinched. “If those two become friends, we’re so screwed. Sidda’s already got my balls in a vice grip, she doesn’t need any more encouragement.”

Finn knew just what he meant. “I know the feeling. I love Q but she has some crazy notion that this dude she’s determined to marry is better for her than me. I’m having a hell of a time convincing her he’s bad news.”

Both shook their heads, “Women.” Each muttered as they watched the women shake hands and glance back at them with evil smiles. Yes, they were both screwed. Completely.

SAYDE: Thanks again to Falyn for letting us visit today. And look for our excerpts and more on our characters next week.  Jillian has a giveaway of a LIVE, LOVE, SURF magnet to a commenter.  I’ll also be giving away either a More Than Temptation ball cap or a tote bag. Leave a comment to be entered to win.

To contact us:  Jillianchantal@gmail.com and http://www.jillianchantal.wordpress.com and http://twitter.com/JillianChantal

To contact Sayde: sayde@saydegrace.com and http://saydegrace.com and Sayde is constantly on twitter so look her up at http://www.twitter.com/saydegrace/

Thanks again everyone for stopping by today and to our lovely host for having us here!

UPDATE: Congratulations to Margo C. who won the magnet.

About Falyn Donaldson

Author and Naughty-minded girl
This entry was posted in Sneak Peak Saturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to When characters meet

  1. Thanks again for having us come by, Falyn! It was fun getting the post together. J

  2. Rita Bay says:

    How clever!! GOod luck on your releases. Rita Bay

  3. Danica Avet says:

    LOL, I loved it! What a great way to introduce your characters! I’m so happy for y’all! Happy future sales, chers!

  4. Darlene says:

    Okay so Surfer Bride has been on my to be read list for a long time, probably since before Jillian finished it now I’ve added Untamable to my list. This was a great way to get to know your characters. Glad Falyn had you drop by together.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention When characters meet | Falyn Donaldson's World -- Topsy.com

  6. jeff7salter says:

    Enjoyed the rapport among your characters.
    Now I REALLY want to see that pix of Quincy’s keester.
    LOL

  7. Rita, Danica, Darlene, and Jeff, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed it

    Sayde and Jillian, thanks again. This post is awesome!

  8. Margo C. says:

    LOVE the beach meeting! What fun! Now I have TWO books on my “can’t wait to read” list! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

